Search for the name, locality, period or a feature of a locality. You'll then be taken to a map showing results.

Hafod (also known as Hafod Uchtryd)3821

Short Description

This was a significant landscape designed according to the principles of the Picturesque, and an essential destination for tourists in the late-18th to early-19th centuries. The mid-20th-century forested landscape is undergoing restoration to reveal the original Picturesque structure and scenic walks.

Visitor Facilities

Free car park (and portaloo). Small disabled car park near office. Nine miles of way-marked walks (free). Guided walks by arrangement. Online guidebook available.

Terrain

upland, hilly
Features

Plant Environment

  • Environment
  • Woodland Garden

Style

  • Picturesque
  • Stable Block
  • Description: L-shaped building now converted to estate offices.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Obelisk
  • Description: Monument to 5th Duke of Bedford, designed by W. Pocock.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Ornamental Bridge
  • Description: Chain Bridge across Ystwyth Gorge, restored 2003.
  • Mansion House (featured building)
  • Description: Original building in Gothic style by Thomas Baldwin in 1784, additions by John Nash 1793-4; rebuilt after 1807 fire within same walls; extended in Italian Gothic style by Anthony Salvin 1847-50. The house as demolished in 1958.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Walk
  • Description: Lady's Walk: circuit walk linking mansion to church and visiting Flower Garden and Peiran Falls.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Walk
  • Description: Gentleman's Walk: circuit walk on south bank of Ystwyth, visiting two caves, numerous cascades, ancient woodland.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Walk
  • Description: New Walk, now known as Ystwyth Gorge Walk: visits spectacular river scenery and restored chain bridge.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
Access & Directions

Access Contact Details

http://www.hafod.org/walks.html

Directions

http://www.hafod.org/directions.html
Authorities

Civil Parish

  • Ysbyty Ystwyth
History

History

This Picturesque landscape was laid out by Thomas Johnes (1748-1816) around his newly-built mansion. Subsequent owners changed little apart from ornamental plantings in the parkland. The Forestry Commission bought the estate in 1950. The house was demolished in 1958.

Period

  • 18th Century
  • Late 18th Century
Associated People
Contact

Telephone

01443 336000

Official Website

Owners

  • Forestry Commission (Welsh Assembly)

    Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth, SY23 2DQ
References

References

Contributors

  • Jennifer Macve

    1