Twyford Abbey is an historic landscape setting encompassing a listed house and garden walls. The property has been vacant since 1988.
Between 1807 and 1809, owner Thomas Willan engaged architect, botanist and geologist William Atkinson to build a mansion in a romantic castellated gothic style, incorporating an earlier moated manor house. To this were added an impressively walled garden of approximately 0.5 hectares, a picturesque pleasure garden and park, and nearby St Mary’s Church was remodelled in gothic style. During the C20th various extensions and alterations were made to the house, which the Alexian Brothers, an order of monks, ran as a nursing home.
- Access & Directions
DirectionsTube: Alperton, Park Royal (Piccadilly); Hanger Lane (Central) then bus. Bus: 224.
London Parks and Gardens Trust