A large irregularly shaped plot to the north of Bruce Castle Park and All Hallows Church, Nikolaus Pevsner described Tottenham Cemetery as a 'rural oasis' and it remains picturesque. The old cemetery has many fine mature trees including 19th-century cedar, oak, conifers, yew and hollies. The south-west extension has 20th-century pollarded limes and acers along the grid of paths, with natural planting along the banks of the Moselle.
The site was opened by the Tottenham Burial Board in 1858 following the closure of All Hallows churchyard to burial in 1857. The south-west extension opened in 1883.
Visitor FacilitiesThe site is open from 8am - 4pm.
Detailed DescriptionTottenham Cemetery was opened by the Tottenham Burial Board in 1858 following the closure of the parish churchyard of All Hallows in 1857. Part of the 5-acre plot was consecrated, with the remainder designated for non Church of England burials, with a chapel for each. The land was drained, landscaped, paths were laid out and evergreens and shrubs planted. The cemetery was extended to the east and south-west between 1881 and 1887 and to the north of Moselle Brook after 1913 on land that included a large lake with two islands that forms the centrepiece of the Garden of Peace.
F Fisk 'History of the Ancient Parish of Tottenham' 1923 (Bruce Castle Archive) p145-6, 340; Hugh Meller & Brian Parsons, 'London Cemeteries, An Illustrated Guide and Gazetteer', 4th edition (The History Press, 2008); Gregg International, Godstone Surrey; Department of National Heritage listing entries; Pevsner.
For more information see http://www.londongardensonline.org.uk/gardens-online-record.asp?ID=HGY039
- Access & Directions
Access Contact DetailsThe site is open from 8am - 4pm.
DirectionsRail: White Hart Lane. Bus: W3, 121, 149, 279
- Victorian (1837-1901)
- Associated People
London Parks and Gardens Trust