The church of St Nicholas surrounded by its burial ground forms a picturesque group on the edge of the common. Its tall shingled spire has long been a local landmark. There are some good monuments in the church and churchyard, in part accounted for by the fact that the highly influential Walsingham family were Lords of the Manor of Scadbury; their Scadbury Chapel is in the church.
There has probably been a church here since Norman times; the present church is largely 15th century with 19th-century alterations. The churchyard boundaries remained the same from at least 1680 to 1860s, with a lych gate to the south. A sign of the growing suburb was the extension of the churchyard in 1890 on a site previously occupied by 2 cottages, and in 1892 the lych gate was moved to the new boundary. Since then the layout of the churchyard has remained substantially unaltered.
Visitor FacilitiesOpening is unrestricted.
- Access & Directions
Access Contact DetailsOpening is unrestricted.
DirectionsRail: Chislehurst then bus. Bus: 162, 269, 61, 160
Diocese of Rochester
London Parks and Gardens Trust