Elmhurst Gardens is an oblong municipal park. The gardens have notable beech, oak and lime, and retain much of the original layout as well as a picturesque brick sundial and small pavilion, and an area of formal planting with seats.
The park is laid out on land once part of Elmhurst Estate, acquired by Woodford UDC in 1921. The gardens were opened in July 1927 as Woodford Recreation Ground. The land was purchased from Mr Lister Harrison of Elmhurst, having been separated from the house and remainder of the estate by the railway in 1856.
Visitor FacilitiesThe park is open daily 8am-dusk (check site owner for closing time); closed Christmas Day.
- Access & Directions
Access Contact DetailsThe park is open daily 8am-dusk (check site owner for closing time); closed Christmas Day.
DirectionsTube: South Woodford (Central)./Walthamstow Central (Victoria) then bus. Bus: 179, 549, W14.
- Early 20th Century