Hildersham Hall 5605

Hildersham, England, Cambridgeshire, South Cambridgeshire

Brief Description

Features include a drive, woodland walks, clumps and an orchard.

History

Hildersham Hall was established in the early-19th century as a private residence.

Detailed Description

The park contains a large lake, described by W. T. Pike in 1912 as a ‘picturesque sheet of ornamental water'. From the hall, a portico facing west overlooks the park of 28 hectares (70 acres) and the drive from the Lodge lined with beech trees.

In 1920 the sale particulars record woodland walks, flowerbeds, clumps of rhododendrons, an orchard and kitchen garden. The estate was bought in the 1930s by a nephew of Cecil Rhodes whose sisters lived there into the 1970s. The plantations and lake remain, but the by-pass to the east of Little Abington intrudes on the park.

Features
  • Drive
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Walk
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Orchard
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Clump
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Kitchen Garden
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Plantation
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Lake
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Manor House (featured building)
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
Authorities

Civil Parish

  • Hildersham
History

Detailed History

Situated to the south of the village, Hildersham Hall is a Regency stuccoed villa designed in 1807 by Edward Lapidge which incorporates a former farmhouse in the wing (Nether Hall manor house). The Hall was built for Thomas Fassett, who designed and laid out the park in 1810.