Twyford School 5181

Winchester, England, Hampshire, Winchester

Brief Description

The site has an early Georgian house, which was taken over as a private school in 1809. New buildings have been sympathetically built, linked by landscaped courtyards. A ha-ha, walled garden with cob wall and an old mulberry tree have been preserved. Much of the grounds are sports fields.

History

Twyford School was originally a private residence. The house was converted into a school in 1809. Buildings have been sympathetically built throughout the grounds since the 19th century. There were several additions, including a large early-Victorian schoolroom and a mid-Victorian chapel.

Detailed Description

The school is now owned by a charitable trust and the school has boarding co-educational facilities as well as a pre-school department. During the past 20 years, a major programme of building and sports field development has been undertaken. New buildings complement the old, linked by well-designed courtyard spaces and landscaping.

There is a short ha-ha to the front of the original house and a walled garden with a cob wall at the back of some of the Victorian buildings. A mulberry tree stands at the front of the house and there are many fine trees in the extensive grounds, now mainly playing fields. The grounds and walls are being well-maintained and the additional buildings of the later years sit sympathetically with the historic setting.

Features
  • Ha-ha
  • Description: There is a short ha-ha to the front of the original house.
  • Garden Wall
  • Description: There is a walled garden with a cob wall at the back of some of the Victorian buildings.
  • School (featured building)
  • Description: The original two-storey brick house is early-Georgian with an attic and a tiled roof. There is a central brick Doric porch with arched opening. The house was taken over as a private school in 1809.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Chapel
  • Description: There is a charming mid-Victorian chapel.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Specimen Tree
  • Description: A mulberry tree stands at the front of the house and there are many fine trees in the extensive grounds.
Authorities

Civil Parish

  • Twyford
History

Detailed History

The original two-storey brick house is early Georgian with an attic and a tiled roof. There is a central brick Doric porch with arched opening. The house was taken over as a private school in 1809. Throughout the 19th century, buildings appropriate for small boarding schools of the time were added. These included a large schoolroom built in the 1820s (still in use as a theatre today) and a charming mid-Victorian chapel.

From 1834 until 1956 the school was owned by the Wickham family, members of which were, more often than not, the Headmaster.

Period

  • Late 18th Century
  • 18th Century
Contact

Telephone

01793 445050

Official Website

Click Here

Owners