The garden was re-landscaped in 2004/5 with a Greenspace Rangers' office, new seating, lighting and bicycle stands as well as road improvements to the surrounding streets.
Newington Green was the centre of the old hamlet on the edge of Stoke Newington and Islington and the area attracted wealthy residents in the C16th / early C17th. The village green had been enclosed to form a square in 1742 and from C18th illustrations it appears to have been a simple grassed area surrounded by palings. By the early C19th paths crossed the green. In 1874 it was acquired by Islington Borough Council and the layout became more elaborate, with benches installed and a picturesque central kiosk, later shaded by trees.
Visitor FacilitiesThe site is open from 8am - dusk.
- Access & Directions
Access Contact DetailsThe site is open from 8am - dusk.
DirectionsLondon Overground: Canonbury, Dalston Kingsland, Dalston Junction. Rail/London Overground/Tube (Victoria): Highbury & Islington. Bus: 21, 73, 141, 236, 476.
London Parks and Gardens Trust