Castell Malgwyn (also known as Castell Malgwyn Hotel)697

Cardigan, Wales

Brief Description

Castell Malgwyn is an intricate and highly picturesque landscape dating mainly from about 1795-1811.

History

The house was built for Sir Benjamin Hammet, who bought the site in 1791. The property was sold after the death of his son John (1811) and his widow Louisa (1824).

Features
  • House (featured building)
  • Description: The house is built in Georgian style of local Cilgerran stone.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Stable Block
  • Description: The stables are built of Cilgerran stone.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Ornamental Bridge
  • Description: The bridge goes over the now-dry canal.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Pavilion
  • Description: Small wooden pavilion.
  • Kitchen Garden
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
Croquet Lawn, Stream, Pool
Authorities

Civil Parish

  • Manordeifi
History

Detailed History

The house was built in 1795 for Sir Benjamin Hammet. It is an intricate and highly picturesque landscape dating mainly from about 1795-1811. It survives almost in its entirety. Some work was carried out on the grounds by one of the few Welsh professional landscapers of the period, Charles Price of Llechryd.

The setting for this landscaping is one of extreme beauty, with the contrasting valleys of the Teifi and Morgenau included in the grounds. The parkland was also formed in the 1790s. The picturesque walks laid out in these valleys are are a rare survival and can be compared with Piercefield (Monmouthshire) and Hafod (Ceredigion). Changes of the 1840s include a lodge, grand entrance, and stable court, all designed by Ambrose Poynter, and a new garden next to the kitchen garden which includes a large fountain. The house and grounds have been in use as an hotel since 1962.

Period

  • Late 18th Century
Associated People

People associated to Castell Malgwyn

Contact

Telephone

01443 336000

Official Website

Click Here

Other websites

Owners

    References

    References