Streatham Common is ancient commonland that was once part of the Manor of South Streatham, which stretched from Norwood to Tulse Hill. Under new ownership in 1883, trees were planted around the perimeter and part of the common was mowed, part allowed to become woodland. Most of the lower part was used as allotments during WWII with temporary housing erected around the perimeter. A picturesque landscape sloping from north to south, the upper edges are covered with trees, bracken, copses and gorse.
At one time known as Lime Common, the site was owned by the church from 1362, at the Dissolution of the Monasteries passing to the Dean and Chapter, and in 1862 to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. It was managed from 1866 by a Committee of Management of local inhabitants. In 1883 it was taken over by the MBW and an Act of Parliament ensured its protection in perpetuity, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners selling c.26.5 hectares to the MBW for £5.
Visitor FacilitiesOpening is unrestricted.
- Access & Directions
Access Contact DetailsOpening is unrestricted.
DirectionsRail: Streatham Common, Streatham. Bus: 50, 59, 60, 109, 118, 159, 249, 250, 333, 417
London Parks and Gardens Trust