The layout of this 18th-century townhouse garden remains more or less intact. It has historical connections with Lord Nelson, and a mid-19th-century garden pavilion which replaces the one in which he sat. The garden is largely lawn with a perimeter gravel path and informal planting.The garden was formerly that of 18 Monnow Street. It is divided from that building by security fencing.
- Description: An open-fronted timber building set against a brick boundary wall and standing on a platform about 5 metres long. The wooden roof has baluster rails and is decorated with 16 circular reflecting plaques. Four round columns of black painted wood support the front, and a bench along the rear wall incorporates what is said to have been Nelson's seat in the earlier summerhouse.
- Earliest Date:
- Latest Date:
- Access & Directions
Access Contact DetailsOpen via the National Gardens Scheme. Visit http://www.ngs.org.uk/ for specific opening dates and times.
DirectionsAccessed from town centre parking. The present entrance is via a door, tunnel and rising steps at the south-east corner of the garden.
Admiral Lord Nelson, Sir William and Emma Hamilton took tea in the summerhouse on 19 August 1802, and described the garden as 'that charming retreat'. At this time the house, 18 Monnow Street, was home to the Town Clerk Colonel Lindsey.The present summerhouse was built about 1840. A black painted wooden bench incorporated chair arms at its centre, and a plaque recording it as Nelson's seat.
- 18th Century
- Late 18th Century
- CADW, Register of Landscapes, Parks and Gardens of Special Historic Interest in Wales:Additional and Revised Entries, Volume1 (Cardiff: CADW, 2007) 42-44Register of Landscapes, Parks and Gardens of Special Historic Interest in Wales: Additional and Revised Entries, Volume 1