The grounds at Monk Coniston Hall are distinguished by an impressive collection of exotic conifers planted largely from the early 19th century. There is also a restored walled garden and a gazebo. The house is under private tenancy but permissive footpaths run through the arboretum and walled garden, linking the grounds to the wider Monk Coniston estate.
The walled garden has been restored to its original late 19th-century layout with slate-edged paths and a viewing platform. There are also the foundations of a greenhouse and cold frames, and a restored potting shed. The permissive path runs through the walled garden.
A tree trail leaflet describes specimen trees that can be seen from the permissive footpath through the grounds. An audio guide is also available. Please see: http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/w-vh/w-visits/w-findaplace/w-conistontarnhows/w-coniston_tarnhows-tree_collection-3.htm
Telephone0844 800 1895
Ha-ha, Gazebo, Kitchen Garden, Specimen Tree
- Visitor Access & Directions
Access Contact DetailsPlease note the estate is owned by the National Trust. The house is occupied by private tennants, please do not trespass. Please visit the website for information about access.
Originally owned by the Monks of Furness Abbey the estate was developed in the late 18th and early 19th centuries by two families, the Knotts and the Marshalls. During the ownership of the Marshalls from 1835 the estate grew to over 4000 acres (about 1620 hectares) and included the picturesque designed landscape around Tarn Hows, which James Garth Marshall created by damming a marshy hollow in the hills.The estate was split in the 1920s and the house and grounds sold separately to the rest of the estate and its farmland. The entire estate is now reunited in the ownership of the National Trust, with private tenants occupying Monk Coniston Hall.
- 18th Century
- Late 18th Century
- Associated People