Lady's Tower was built in 1770 for Lady Janet Anstruther.
The tower on the eastern headland of Ruby Bay was built in 1770 for Lady Janet Anstruther, the beautiful daughter of a wealthy Elie merchant and a regular swimmer in the waters around Elie Ness.
“As we understand it Jenny used the Tower as a viewpoint where she could sit to watch the world go by and recover from bathing/immersion. She changed in the man-made cave on the beach below the Tower.” – Elie & Earlsferry History Society
She was the daughter of a Scottish merchant and renowned for her beauty and reputation as a flirt. Prior to her skinny dip she sent out one of her servants into the town of Elie to ring a bell to let residents know to stay away!
- Visitor Access, Directions & Contacts
Access contact details
Open to the public.
- Features & Designations
- Key Information
Open to the public