The house was built in 1788 for John Matthews to a design by James Wyatt, and set in a landscape park by Humphry Repton, with views over a ha-ha to the River Wye. The park includes several cottages designed by John Nash. The house was remodelled by Edward Welby Pugin in 1866. Most of the park is now a golf course.
The house was begun in 1788, designed by James Wyatt for John Matthews. The parkland setting was designed by Humphry Repton. The house was remodelled in 1866 by Edward Welby Pugin.
Ha-ha, Terrace, Kitchen Garden, Gazebo
- Access & Directions
DirectionsTwo miles south-west of Hereford via the A465 and a minor road.
John Matthews (1755-1826) commissioned James Wyatt to design Belmont House, south-west of Hereford, and laid its foundation stone in 1788. He consulted Humphry Repton regarding the design of the park overlooking the River Wye.
In 1794 Matthews entered the Picturesque debate by publishing (anonymously) 'A Sketch from the Landscape', a parody, with cartoons, of Richard Payne Knight's poem 'The Landscape'.
In 1866 Edward Welby Pugin remodelled the house in the Gothic style. In the same year W.A. Nesfield and his son Arthur Markham Nesfield were consulted regarding the grounds, but recommended that no changes be made.
The park is now largely a golf course.
- Late 18th Century
- Associated People