Search for the name, locality, period or a feature of a locality. You'll then be taken to a map showing results.
The pier was designed by Frederick Foster and opened in 1846. It was originally constructed of wooden piles and iron girders but was rebuilt in 1872 after sustaining storm damage. In 1895, further work extended the pier to 570 feet and a 2ft 6inch gauge baggage line was added.
A pavilion was built at the end of the 19th century and the pier was served by the steamers of the Liverpool & North Wales Steamship Co. for many years. It was particularly popular in the summer months with services to and from Menai Bridge, Llandudno and Liverpool, provided by the steamers ‘La Marguerite’, ‘St Elvies’ and ‘Snowdonia’.
After World War Two, there was some deterioration and, with the decline of passenger services to Liverpool, it was decided to demolish the unsafe T-head structure. Beaumaris Town Council restored the pier at a cost of £15,000 in the 1960s and ownership passed to the Isle of Anglesey Borough Council in 1974. Repair work was undertaken to stop deterioration and there was an annual budget for replacement of decaying timbers.
The shoreward end is of stone and includes a gift kiosk. There are seats, a shelter and angling facilities at the seaward end. Visitors can cross to Puffin Island, travel down the Menai Strait or try sea fishing from 3 dual purpose angling/pleasure cruise boats operating from the pier.
In August 2010, Anglesey County Council approved plans for the refurbishment of Beaumaris Pier, to include the replacement of decking, the reinstatement of the pier to its former width, the refurbishment of the kiosk and shelter, and the provision of a landing pontoon. Anglesey council sees the work as a way to secure the long-term future of the pier after recent deterioration.