Search for the name, locality, period or a feature of a locality. You'll then be taken to a map showing results.

St John's House (also known as Bishop Lovett Middle School)

Introduction

St John's House was built by Colonel William Amherst in 1769. Edward Simeon purchased the estate in 1796 and from 1797 onwards he remodelled the grounds and laid out a park. This was designed by Humphry Repton, the notable landscape gardener.

Location, Area, Boundaries, Landform and Setting

The whole estate stretched from Westridge Cross in the south, Monkton Mead Brook in the west to St Clare's in the east. The landscaped park was smaller and can be seen on a map of the area dated 1803. St John's entirely surrounded the much smaller park at Appley.

Entrances and Approaches

Repton's work included a formal entrance, an new approach to the house, two thatched lodge cottages illustrated in G.A. Cooke's 'New Picture of the West Wight' published in 1808. The turnpike road extended to the seashore where a pier and a 'marina' were constructed. The 'marina' was built for bathing and viewing the seascape.

Until the mid 19 century the estate remained fairly complete. Gradually the estate was sub divided with plots being sold for development.

Today the house and a small area of the original grounds form the Bishop Lovett Middle School.

Contact

Telephone

01983 821000

Official Website

Owners

    Features

    Style

    • Picturesque
    Folly, Walk, Arch, Water Feature, Rockwork, Drive, Building, Bath House, Building
    Visitor Access & Directions

    Directions

    From the Esplanade follow the A3055 south via East Hill Road. As the road turns eastward the access to St John's House is on the right just before a mini roundabout which marks the junction with the B3330.

    History

    Period

    • 18th Century
    • Late 18th Century
    Associated People
    References

    References