Search for the name, locality, period or a feature of a locality. You'll then be taken to a map showing results.

Goodrich Court


Goodrich Court is a 19th-century century park laid out in the Picturesque style and later modified, with a formal garden around the house. The house has gone, but many features of the grounds survive.

Visitor Access, Directions & Contacts


Three miles south-west of Ross on Wye via the A40 and a minor road.


Goodrich Court was begun in 1828 for Samuel Rush Meyrick, a medievalist who had failed to purchase the ruins of nearby Goodrich Castle. The new house was designed by Edward Blore. Early illustrations show the new house in a Picturesque setting of rutted tracks and crags.

The house was altered by new owners in the 1880s, by which time a level formal garden surrounded it. The stable block and kitchen garden were built at this time.

The house was demolished in 1949. The gatehouse, park, stables and kitchen garden remain.

Associated People
Features & Designations


  • Gate Lodge
  • Kitchen Garden
Key Information



Principal Building

Domestic / Residential


Part: ground/below ground level remains

Civil Parish