Search for the name, locality, period or a feature of a locality. You'll then be taken to a map showing results.

Londonderry 1

County Londonderry


County Londonderry (Ulster-Scots: Coontie Lunnonderrie), also known as County Derry (Irish: Contae Dhoire), is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland, one of the thirty two counties of Ireland and one of the nine counties of Ulster.

Before the partition of Ireland, it was one of the counties of the Kingdom of Ireland from 1613 onward and then of the United Kingdom after the Acts of Union 1800.

Adjoining the north-west shore of Lough Neagh, the county covers an area of 2,074 km2 (801 sq mi) and today has a population of about 247,132.