Faversham Recreation Ground 1308

Faversham, England, Kent, Swale

Brief Description

Faversham Recreation Ground is a sports and recreation ground of unknown size created in 1860. Features include a Victorian keeper's lodge and a summer house loggia. The site is used and maintained by Faversham Rugby Club.

History

The inauguration of Faversham Recreation Ground in 1860 was celebrated with a half- holiday and a grand procession.

Visitor Facilities

This is a municipal site for general public use. Please see: http://www.swale.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=918

Detailed Description

The central area is bounded by broad avenues of lime and sycamore shading winding paths. The ancient track to Macknade which crosses the park and the railway is well-screened by mature trees.

The charming Victorian keeper's lodge with its summer house loggias is used and cared for by the Faversham Rugby Club.

Features
  • Gate Lodge
  • Description: The charming Victorian keeper?s lodge with its summer house loggias is used and cared for by the Faversham Rugby Club.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Tree Avenue
  • Description: The central area is bounded by broad avenues of lime and sycamore shading winding paths.
Loggia
Access & Directions

Access Contact Details

This is a municipal site for general public use. Please see: http://www.swale.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=918
Authorities

Civil Parish

  • Faversham
History

Detailed History

The arrival of the East Kent Railway had launched a building boom: Gillow's Meadow, a traditional promenade, lying in the arm of the railway and in the path of development was saved by the Trustees of the Faversham Municipal Charities and by public subscription.

Period

  • Victorian (1837-1901)
References

References

Contributors

  • Kent Gardens Trust