Woodcock Park and Kenton Grange, (also known as Kenton Grange), London, England
Record Id: 8163
Site is open to the public. Opening may be limited, please check Visitor Information for any restrictions.
Brief description of site
The park has a good collection of trees and shrubs, with numerous mature specimens. The area south of the stream is more open with recreational facilities, largely grass and some scattered trees.
Brief history of site
Woodcock Park and Kenton Grange are divided by the Wealdstone Brook, both sections once part of the grounds of Kenton Grange, built as Kenton Lodge in 1803-7 with a small garden behind the house. The land extending to the stream was owned in the 1920s by Mr Jeffress, who built the picturesque cottage estate at Brookside Close. Jeffress sold the property in around 1952 to Middlesex County Council who turned Kenton Grange into an old people's home, and the remaining land into a public park.
Address: Kenton Road/Woodgrange Avenue/Woodcock Hill/Shaftesbury Avenue, Kenton, HA3
Greater London; Brent
Historical County: Middlesex
|OS Landranger Map Sheet Number:||176||Grid Ref:||TQ178885|
Tube: Kingsbury (Jubilee) then bus. London Overground/Tube (Bakerloo): Kenton then bus. Bus: 183, 223
Opening contact details:
Opening is unrestricted.
Form of site: public park
Purpose of site: public park
Context or principal building: parks, gardens and urban spaces
Site first created: 1952
Main period of development: Mid 20th century
Site Size (Hectares): 11