Monk Coniston Hall, (also known as Waterhead House), Coniston, England
Record Id: 6909
Site is open to the public. Opening may be limited, please check Visitor Information for any restrictions.
Brief description of site
The grounds at Monk Coniston Hall are distinguished by an impressive collection of exotic conifers planted largely from the early 19th century. There is also a restored walled garden and a gazebo. The house is under private tenancy but permissive footpaths run through the arboretum and walled garden, linking the grounds to the wider Monk Coniston estate.
Brief history of site
Originally owned by the Monks of Furness Abbey the estate was developed in the late 18th and early 19th centuries by two families, the Knotts and the Marshalls. During the ownership of the Marshalls from 1835 the estate grew to over 4000 acres (about 1620 hectares) and included the picturesque designed landscape around Tarn Hows, which James Garth Marshall created by damming a marshy hollow in the hills.
The estate was split in the 1920s and the house and grounds sold separately to the rest of the estate and its farmland. The entire estate is now reunited in the ownership of the National Trust, with private tenants occupying Monk Coniston Hall.
Address: Monk Coniston Hall, Coniston, Cumbria, LA21 8AQ
Cumbria; South Lakeland; Coniston
Historical County: Lancashire
|OS Landranger Map Sheet Number:||96||Grid Ref:||SD318983|
Opening contact details:
Please note the estate is owned by the National Trust. The house is occupied by private tennants, please do not trespass. Please visit the website for information about access.
Form of site: country estate
Purpose of site: Ornamental
Context or principal building: domestic / residential
Site first created: After 1770
Main period of development: Late 18th century