St John's House, (also known as Bishop Lovett Middle School), St John's Ryde, England
Record Id: 6764
Site is open to the public. Opening may be limited, please check Visitor Information for any restrictions.
Brief description of site
St John's House was built by Colonel William Amherst in 1769. Edward Simeon purchased the estate in 1796 and from 1797 onwards he remodeled the grounds and laid out a park. This was designed by Humphry Repton the notable landscape gardener.
The whole estate stretched from Westridge Cross in the south, Monkton Mead Brook in the west to St Clare's in the east. The landscaped park was smaller and can be seen on a map of the area dated 1803. St John's entirely surrounded the much smaller park at Appley.
Repton's work included a formal entrance, an new approach to the house, two thatched lodge cottages illustrated in G.A. Cooke's 'New Picture of the West Wight' published in 1808. The turnpike road extended to the seashore where a pier and a 'marina' were constructed. The 'marina' was built for bathing and viewing the seascape.
Until the mid nineteenth century the estate remained fairly complete. Gradually the estate was sub divided with plots being sold for development.
Today the house and a small area of the original grounds form the Bishop Lovett Middle School.
Address: Appley Road, Ryde, Isle of Wight, PO33 1NE
Locality: St John's Ryde
Isle of Wight; St Johns East
|OS Landranger Map Sheet Number:||196||Grid Ref:||SZ 603920|
From the Esplanade follow the A3055 south via East Hill Road. As the road turns eastward the access to St John's House is on the right just before a mini roundabout which marks the junction with the B3330.
Form of site: country estate
Purpose of site: Ornamental
Context or principal building: school
Site Style : Picturesque
Site first created: 1797 to 1803
Main period of development: Late 18th century
Survival: Part: standing remains