Bourn Hall, Cambridge, England
Record Id: 493
This site is NOT open to public.
Brief description of site
The site has landscaped pleasure grounds and parkland laid out in 1815 by Humphry and J. A. Repton. The grounds surround the 17th-century house. The gardens were laid out for the 5th Earl de La Warr. The site sits on an elevated position which was the site of an 11th-century castle, with partial remains of the earlier landscape evident. The garden features a raised 'Yew Walk', a Victorian formal garden, semi-improved grassland and mature trees.
Brief history of site
The present Hall at Bourn was built in about 1602 for John Hagar, occupying the site of an 11th century castle, the remains of which survive in the park. The house was re-modelled after 1733, then in 1817 John Adey Repton was commissioned to restore and enlarge the Hall. Together with his father Humphry Repton, he probably also advised on the layout of the grounds. A picturesque landscape and ornamental garden was created in the grounds. Alterations to the Hall were undetaken at the end of the 19th century by the architect Norman Shaw. In 1979 the Hall and park were sold separately, the Hall and its gardens being established by Patrick Steptoe and Robert Edwards as an infertility clinic, in which use it remains.
Address: Bourn Hall, Bourn, Cambridgeshire, CB23 2TN
Cambridgeshire; South Cambridgeshire; Bourn
Historical County: Cambridgeshire
|OS Landranger Map Sheet Number:||154||Grid Ref:||TL32305619|
Form of site: estate
Purpose of site: Ornamental
Context or principal building: house
Site first created: Before 1099
Main period of development: Early 19th century
Site Size (Hectares): 12