Belmont House, Herefordshire, Clehonger, Hereford, England
Record Id: 4560
John Matthews (1755-1826) commissioned James Wyatt to design Belmont House, south-west of Hereford, and laid its foundation stone in 1788. He consulted Humphry Repton regarding the design of the park overlooking the River Wye.
In 1794 Matthews entered the Picturesque debate by publishing (anonymously) 'A Sketch from the Landscape', a parody, with cartoons, of Richard Payne Knight's poem 'The Landscape'.
In 1866 Edward Welby Pugin remodelled the house in the Gothic style. In the same year W.A. Nesfield and his son Arthur Markham Nesfield were consulted regarding the grounds, but recommended that no changes be made.
The park is now largely a golf course.
People associated with this site
Owner: Dr John Matthews (born 1755 died 1826)
Architect: Edward Welby Pugin (born 11/03/1834 died 05/06/1875)
Designer: Humphry Repton (born 21/04/1752 died 24/03/1818)
Architect: James Wyatt (born 1747 died 1813)