Blaise Hamlet, Bristol, England
Record Id: 444
Blaise Hamlet was designed by John Nash for John Harford. Harford was a Bristol banker who bought the nearby Blaise Castle Estate in 1789. The hamlet, completed in 1812, was Harford's final project in his series of improvements of the estate. The cottages were designed as retirement homes for Harford's retainers.
John Nash had entered into a short-lived partnership with Humphrey Repton, whilst Repton was working on Harford's estate. Nash also designed the dairy and the conservatory on the estate. When the partnership ended one of Repton's sons, George, remained, with Nash as his assistant. The two of them worked on the hamlet, George doing the supervision and detailing in Nash's absence. In 1943 the hamlet was given to the National Trust.
1812: The hamlet was completed.
1943: The hamlet was given to the National Trust.
People associated with this site
Architect: John Nash (born 1752 died 1835)
Designer: George Stanley Repton (born 30/01/1786 died 29/06/1858)
Designer: John Adey Repton (born 29/03/1775 died 26/11/1860)
This refers to the cottage gardens. Each is a different shape and size. Most are well-cultivated in the Victorian cottage garden style.
The village green is gently sloping and planted with a few small trees.
Feature created: 1809 to 1812
Creator: John Nash (born 1752 died 1835)
There are nine cottages associated with this site. Each cottage is distinctive, although they are united into a cohesive group by their common scale and picturesque design. Some have thatched roofs, others are tiled. They all have rustic seats, extravagant tall chimneys, porches and dormers.
Feature created: 1815
The sundial was erected in 1815 by John Harford's son to commemorate the building of the hamlet. The sundial incorporates a pump at its foot.