Wadhurst Castle, (also known as Maplehurst), Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
Record Id: 3397
Site is open to the public. Opening may be limited, please check Visitor Information for any restrictions.
Brief description of site
Wadhurst Castle has a mid-19th-century pleasure ground and park accompanying a castellated house. The Castle and grounds are highly visible in the landscape, and make a significant contribution to the landscape character.
Brief history of site
Wadhurst Castle is built on the site of Maplehurst, recorded in the 14th century. The old house was demolished and replaced with a square, castellated stone mansion after 1818. The name of the mansion was changed to Wadhurst Castle after 1826. After 1838, Edward Buckton Lamb was appointed to remodel the Castle. By this date, there was a small park of 8 hectares to the south. The parkland was developed, in the early 1840s, to complement the remodelling of the Castle, and essentially to provide a picturesque setting for the turreted castle. By 1872 the parkland had been extended to 30 hectares, but was gradually reduced after World War 1.
Address: Wadhurst Castle, Wadhurst, Lewes, East Sussex, TN5 6DA
Locality: Royal Tunbridge Wells
East Sussex; Wealden; Wadhurst
Historical County: Sussex
|OS Landranger Map Sheet Number:||188||Grid Ref:||TQ634319|
Opening contact details:
The site is now a venue for weddings, conferences and events.
Form of site: park
Purpose of site: Ornamental
Context or principal building: house
Main period of development: Mid 19th century
Site Size (Hectares): 58