Stradsett Hall, Downham Market, England
Record Id: 3150
This site is NOT open to public.
Brief description of site
Stradsett Hall has a park and pleasure grounds of 100 hectares laid out by John Claudius Loudon between 1810 and 1813.
Brief history of site
In 1791 the Elizabethan manor house was accompanied by several ponds and the remains of a medieval moat. After 1807, T P Bagge prepared to remodel the hall and create a 'picturesque' landscape around it. In 1808 he commissioned Humphry Repton to supply a design but it was J C Loudon whom Bagge chose for the commission in 1810. Through successive generations of the Bagge family the main elements of the Loudon landscape have survived.
Address: Fincham, PE33 9HA
Locality: Downham Market
Norfolk; King's Lynn and West Norfolk; Stradsett
Historical County: Norfolk
|OS Landranger Map Sheet Number:||143||Grid Ref:||TF667058|
Form of site: landscape park
Purpose of site: Ornamental
Context or principal building: house
Site first created: 1810 to 1813
Main period of development: Early 19th century
Site Size (Hectares): 100