Guy's Cliffe, Warwick, England
Record Id: 1559
This site is NOT open to public.
Brief description of site
Originally a medieval chantry, the site was developed as a residence from the 16th century. The house and grounds were re-developed from 1822, and a Picturesque landscape laid out along the edge of the River Avon. The house was partly demolished in 1952 and is now in ruins. The property was divided, and the garden is now mostly overgrown. Features included formal gardens and a River Front.
Brief history of site
The cliff overlooking the River Avon was the home of hermits for centuries. An oratory was built there about AD 600, and the name of the site derives from one Guy of Warwick who lived there in the 10th century. In medieval times there was a chantry, and after the Dissolution the new owners built a residence on the summit of the cliff. In 1701 the property was sold to William Edwards, a surgeon from Kenilworth, who built a new wing with forecourt and avenue made possible by earthworks. From the mid-18th century the property expanded, and in 1822 Bertie Greatheed, known to Uvedale Price and Prince Puckler-Muskau, rebuilt the entire house to his own designs, and laid out a picturesque landscape along the river's edge. In 1821 he planted Blacklow Hill and erected a cross at the place where Edward II's favourite, Piers Gaveston, had been beheaded. The house was sold for its building materials in 1952, leaving just the shell, and the ownership of the property was subsequently divided.
Address: Guy's Cliffe House, Warwick, CV34 5YB
Warwickshire; Warwick; Old Milverton
Historical County: Warwickshire
|OS Landranger Map Sheet Number:||151||Grid Ref:||SP293668|
North of Warwick on the A429
Form of site: landscape garden
Purpose of site: Ornamental
Context or principal building: house
Site Style : Picturesque
Main period of development: Early 19th century
Survival: Part: standing remains
Site Size (Hectares): 56