Eridge Park, Tunbridge Wells, England
Record Id: 1264
This site is NOT open to public.
Brief description of site
Parkland extending to 811 hectares (546 hectares comprising the registered site) associated with a country house. The park is divided into the 'Old Park' developed in the late-18th century on the site of a former deer park, and, the 'New Park' developed in the early-19th century.
Brief history of site
There are early references to a deer park in the area belonging to Odo, William the Conqueror's brother. The first definite mention of Eridge is in 1344 when the lands were described as a 'chase containing 600 acres' with a 'messuage called Erugge'. 'Newepark' was imparked and stocked with deer by 1400. It was not until 1792, when the second Earl of Abergavenny (1755-1843) decided to make Eridge the family seat, that a designed landscape park was laid out. Eridge Castle, a picturesque castellated mansion, was constructed in 1787. It was demolished in 1938, when Eridge Park House was built on the same site.
Address: Eridge Park, Eridge Green, Tunbridge Wells, Kent, TN3 9JT
Locality: Tunbridge Wells
East Sussex; Wealden; Frant
Historical County: Sussex
|OS Landranger Map Sheet Number:||188||Grid Ref:||TQ 564 357|
2 miles south of Tunbridge Wells
Form of site: landscape park
Purpose of site: Ornamental
Context or principal building: great house
Site Style : Picturesque
Site first created: 1067 to 1344
Main period of development: Late 18th century
Site Size (Hectares): 811